US Flag: Proud to be an American

Flag of the United States of America

In the next 3 months (May – July), there are 3 holidays that we will celebrate to honor our country.  In each of these holidays, the American Flag will be proudly displayed. Memorial Day May 28th, Flag Day- June 14th and July 4th are national holidays in the U.S. that celebrate the people and events that have made our country great. What better time of year than to explain some of the history behind our America’s flag.  The facts below are also great for my Trivia Team friends!

Holidays That Celebrate America

  • Memorial Day is a day to honor and remember all the men and women who died fighting for our country.  These men and women dedicated their lives so we can be a free nation. Memorial Day is celebrated the last Monday of May each year.
  • Flag Day is celebrated on June 14th each year. The flag was adopted in 1777 but it wasn’t until 1949 that congress established a day to celebrate the flag.
  • The 4th of July in the United States is also known as Independence Day.  It is a federal holiday to celebrate July 4th, 1776, the day that the U.S. declared independence from Britain. On this day the Declaration of Independence was also adopted.  Some people celebrate the 4th of July by going to parades, picnics, parties or watching fireworks.  

Flag History

  • A flag is a symbol that is used to represent a group of people.  Flags are made of cloth.
  • The American Flag symbolizes a passed history. It gives Americans a feeling of pride and unity bringing together its many states as one.
  • Betsy Ross is the woman who is believed to have made our nation’s first flag.  It has not been confirmed but she was a friend of George Washington and she was a seamstress, so historians think it was probably her.
  • The first United States flag became official in 1777.
  • The flag has various nicknames including “Old Glory”, “Stars and Stripes” and “The Star-Spangled Banner”.

Flag Design

  • The colors of the US flag are symbolic: bravery (red), purity (white) and loyalty (blue). 
  • There are 7 red stripes and 6 white stripes.
  • Originally there were 13 stars and stripes that represented the 13 colonies that declared independence from Great Britain. The first 13 colonies, (alphabetically): Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina and Virginia
  • Currently the flag has 50 stars; 1 for each state.  President Eisenhower ordered the current flag in 1960: after Hawaii became the last state added in 1959.